The John Swanson – Smith Trophy

“John Smith, as we then knew him was the founding Captain of the Golf Society and his club, Denham Golf Club, was adopted as our home course. John’s links with BP led to a fixture against the Oil Industry Golf Society which is still played annually at Denham. Even after moving to Scotland, John always tried to support our events and, in 2010, helped our Tour organiser, John Winter, to arrange our visit to Royal Troon GC. He presented the Golf Society with The John Swanson-Smith Trophy which we award annually to the member with the best combined score each season. Sadly ‘Big John’ died in 2011 but we all remember him as a generous, warm-hearted, considerate gentleman and a very good 9 handicap golfer. Through the trophy, his memory lives on in the Golf Society.” 

Year Winner
2021 Paul Ritchie
2020 Cameron Grant
2019 Cameron Grant
2018 Cameron Grant
2017 Peter Wood
2016 Cameron Grant
2015 Paul Ritchie
2014 Brian Childs
2013 Brian Reid
2012 Cameron Grant
2011 Brain Childs
2010 Peter Taylor
2009 Bob Harper
2008 Paul Ritchie
2007 Oliver Jaycock
2006 Martin Elliot
2005 Stephen Smith
2004 Peter Taylor
2003 Paul Butterworth
2002 Paul Symes
2001 Paul Symes

Paul Ritchie wins the John Swanson Smith Trophy for 2021